Marcail does imitations of people, “Mommy says, ‘I love you!’  Daddy says, ‘No no no.’  Bumpa says, ‘Totally chicken.’  Ducky says, ‘Course you can’t!’ (though she really says “CAN” – that woman would help Marcail bury bodies, I’m sure of it.) Cookie [Monster] says, “Om nom nom.’ Elmo says, ‘La la la.’ Count says, ‘One ah ah ah.'”  Some of them I have taught to her (what Daddy says for instance) but others she decided on her own, including an unflattering (but spot on) imitation of one of her little friends.

****

Instead of using the ing suffix, Marcail says things with an ins at the end.  It makes her sound like a tiny southern belle.  Eatins!  Spinnins!  Seeins! 

****

She desperately wants to count and say her ABCs.  Right now counting sounds a bit like, “Two, fee, five, semen, semen, nine… YAY!!!” The other day I caught her muttering, “ABC… F… H… OP!… T… WX… Now I (mumble mumble mumble) WITH ME!!!”

****

Instead of saying, “NO!” like most toddler, Marcail’s current favorite word is a negative, “mm mm.”  It drives Jason crazy because she has my intonation down perfectly.

****

She occassionally exclaims, “ORANGE!” for no apparent reason.  Even though she’s not a huge fan of the fruit and the color is nowhere to be seen.

****

Lately she’s started adding “too” to another word to indicate she wants something you have or are doing,  “Loves too”  “Lunch too”  “Coffee too”. 

****

“Marcail turn” means “I’ll do it myself.”  “Help you” means “Help me.”  When she wants to say “Me” she adds an “ee” to the end of a word “Holdee” “Spinee.”

****

For several days she would say something like, “Chickenasaur” to me in a rather demanding voice.  I had NO clue what it was but we’ve finally decided she’s asking us to sing, “Twinkle Star.”

****

No matter what she’s saying, she keeps me on my toes and entertained and delighted pretty much every day.

